Coup de Théâtre

Love, like a floundering swan
With fumbling confidence
Is forlorn.

A dying peacock
Is still beautiful,
Words poignant
No matter how truthful.

The tide doesn’t matter
When the winds have flooded the shore
It’s wide open but
I can’t get myself to, walk out the door.

Who knew life was like a game of poker
Times change fast,
Ask the amused ides of October.

Your smile is a Lethe like symphony
You dimple at me, and I don’t need an apology
I plead temporary insanity.
How else will we overcome the dishonesty?

We shall continue this celestial fight
Until the wrong still feels right.
I may pretend, I’m out of mind
Unfortunately, I’m painfully aware, I’m lying.

But there is no escaping
The helpless humiliation of knowing

I love you

And

Sometimes,
You love me too.

-Tannisha Avarrsekar

Leave a comment