The train

There’s something about trains and planes
Which move faster than time
That remind me how much of our journey
                Like the warm beams of a setting sun
Are so blissfully alone

Even though the eerie hush between these rainfalls
And the distance between our pillows
Has been teaching me a little about liminality’s throes
I still live for the exquisite pain of those sitar crescendos
And I’m so curious to reach the coming house of tomorrow

Built with firewood I so passionately polished
Holding the bittersweet smell of old roses on a breeze
And dew trickling down slower than my tears now streak
Knowing, the beginning of the end wasn’t far away
And my last first-time in that beloved prison would be walking away

Maybe I did get on the wrong train…
But once I got on I couldn’t get off
Because if I got off then I might never be able to get back on.

-Tannisha Avarrsekar

Leave a comment